Chad Gable defeats Gunther but count-out victory means no title change

Originally published at https://www.postwrestling.com/2023/08/21/chad-gable-defeats-gunther-but-count-out-victory-means-no-title-change/

Chad Gable became the first opponent to defeat Gunther in a singles match during his Intercontinental Championship reign on Raw.

The win came by count-out, so the Austrian retained the title and seems set to surpass the record IC reign of The Hony Tonk Man.

Imperium DEMANDS @SamanthatheBomb acknowledge that @Gunther_AUT is STILL the Intercontinental Champion!#WWERaw pic.twitter.com/DhbxaOF9rD

— WWE (@WWE) August 22, 2023

Monday’s match was a multi-segment encounter that crossed into the second hour of the show. It was a very good television match that had the crowd chanting, “This is awesome.”

The climax of the contest came when Gable then gave Gunther a German suplex over into the timekeeper’s area.

With the referee counting, Gable slipped back into the ring at nine for the win.

The furious Imperium stablemates then demanded that Samantha Irvin announce to the crowd that Gunther was still champion due to the manner of victory.