First five names announced for 2021 MLW Opera Cup

Originally published at First five names announced for 2021 MLW Opera Cup

Participants revealed for the 2021 Opera Cup.

Next month, Major League Wrestling’s ‘Fightland’ show is emanating from the 2300 Arena in Philadelphia and along with the Jacob Fatu versus Hammerstone title versus title match, the 2021 Opera Cup tournament is taking place at the event.

MLW revealed the first five names in the tournament and they are listed as followed:

  • Davey Richards
  • Matt Cross
  • Calvin Tankman
  • Tom Lawlor
  • TJP

Lee Moriarty was included in the original promotional material for the Opera Cup but prior to the 9/8 Dynamite going live on TNT, Moriarty was offered a contract from AEW President Tony Khan and Lee accepted. Moriarty was a part of MLW’s Battle Riot tapings in July.

Tom Lawlor won the 2020 Opera Cup tournament by defeating Low Ki in the finals. Lawlor is also the reigning NJPW STRONG Openweight Champion.