Katsuhiko Nakajima retains AJPW Triple Crown Championship, will face NXT’s Charlie Dempsey on January 3rd

Originally published at Katsuhiko Nakajima retains AJPW Triple Crown Championship, will face NXT’s Charlie Dempsey on January 3rd

Katsuhiko Nakajima successfully defended his AJPW Triple Crown Championship on Sunday and will go on to face NXT’s Charlie Dempsey on January 3rd.

Nakajima was victorious against Kento Miyahara in the main event of ‘AJPW MANIAx’ at Yoyogi National Stadium in Tokyo.

Sporting a short-cropped haircut, Nakajima was flanked by legendary booker Hisashi Shinma as he came to the ring.

Shinma, 88, was a past Chairman of NJPW who worked closely with Antonio Inoki in its formative years. He also preceded Jack Tunney as the on-screen President of the World Wrestling Federation from 1979 to 1984.

Nakajima retained his title by forcing a submission from Miyahara at the end of a 25-minute match.



📺ご視聴はこちらhttps://t.co/2R4sZMhAtq#ajpw #大晦日代々木決戦 pic.twitter.com/vr38KQ2ew4

— 全日本プロレス/alljapan (@alljapan_pw) December 31, 2023

All Japan stages its two-day New Year Giant Series on January 2nd and 3rd, with Nakajima defending his title again on day two, this time against Charlie Dempsey of NXT.

Dempsey was revealed as NXT’s candidate to challenge for the title by his father, William Regal. Dempsey prevailed in a tag match on Sunday’s card, teaming with Yuma Anzai against Tatsumi Fujinama & LEONA.

Charlie Dempsey made his #ajpw debut at #ajpwMANIAx2023#チャーリー・デンプシー#ajpw#大晦日代々木決戦#WWENXT pic.twitter.com/zPXRgiIFag

— Issa – PWI 📸 Contributor (@IssitaMarie) December 31, 2023

Elsewhere on the card, El Lindaman lost his AJPW World Junior Heavyweight Title to Dan Tamura. Yoshitatsu also announced that he was leaving the promotion.

AJPW MANIAx 2023 results (courtesy of Purolove)

  • Minoru Tanaka , Naruki Doi & Koji Iwamoto def. Black Menso-re, Takuya Nomura & Fuminori Abe
  • Takao Omori, Ryuki Honda & Ryo Inoue def. Mitsuya Nagai, Koji Doi & Kuma Arashi
  • Yuma Aoyagi & Yoshitatsu def. Shuji Ishikawa & Ren Ayabe
  • Jun Saito def. Rei Saito
  • Kuroshio TOKYO Japan & Seigo Tachibana def. Shotaro Ashino & T-Hawk
  • Yuma Anzai & Charlie Dempsey def. Tatsumi Fujinami & LEONA
  • AJPW vs. DDT: Yuki Ueno & Toy Kojima def. Atsuki Aoyagi & Rising HAYATO
  • AJPW World Jr. Heavyweight Championship: Dan Tamura defeats El Lindaman (c)
  • Minoru Suzuki, Davey Boy Smith Jr & Hokuto Omori def. Suwama, Hideki Suzuki & Hikaru Sato
  • AJPW Triple Crown Championship: Katsuhiko Nakajima (c) def. Kento Miyahara