New NXT tag champions crowned at NXT TakeOver: Portland

Originally published at

A new set of NXT tag champions were crowned on Sunday night during the NXT TakeOver: Portland card from the Moda Center.

Matt Riddle & Pete Dunne, the winners of the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic this year, won the NXT tag titles defeating Kyle O’Reilly and Bobby Fish.

After a series of miscommunication spots where Dunne accidentally knocked Riddle off the apron and Riddle missed O’Reilly to spear Dunne, the challengers made a fiery comeback. This included an X Plex to O’Reilly into a powerbomb from Riddle in mid-air followed by a Bro 2 Sleep into an enzuigiri delivered to Fish as Riddle pinned Fish at the seventeen-minute mark of the match.

O’Reilly and Fish had been NXT tag champions since August 15th of last year when they defeated The Street Profits. It ends O’Reilly’s third reign as tag champion and Fish’s second.

This marks Riddle’s first win since joining WWE in the summer of 2018. Dunne held the NXT UK championship from May 2017 until April 2019.