Nikki and Brie Bella officially announced for the WWE Hall of Fame

Originally published at

On Friday Night SmackDown, it was officially announced that The Bella Twins would be part of this year’s Hall of Fame class in Tampa.

The announcement was made by Alexa Bliss during the ‘Moment of Bliss’ segment with Nikki and Brie coming out for a quick segment to thank the fans.

News of The Bella’s inclusion for the Hall of Fame was first reported by WrestleVotes.

The two join Dave Bautista, Hulk Hogan, Kevin Nash, Scott Hall, and Sean Waltman as the inductees already announced. It is expected that Jushin Thunder Liger will be another member of this year’s class.

Nikki and Brie tried out for the Diva Search competition in 2006 and failed to make the cut, however, they were signed by WWE in 2007 and assigned to Florida Championship Wrestling.

They were brought up to the main roster in 2008 and stayed with the company until 2012 when they both left.

In 2013, they returned and were the stars of the first season of Total Divas that premiered that’s summer on E! The series has had nine seasons with several spinoffs, including Nikki & Brie’s own series title Total Bellas.

Nikki held the Diva’s title twice with a short reign in April 2012. She won the title a second time in November 2014 and held it for ten months before losing to Charlotte Flair in September 2015. Brie held the title once from April until June of 2011.

The two consider themselves retired with Brie wrestling her last match in August 2018 and Nikki ending her career after the European tour in November 2018.

The WWE Hall of Fame ceremony takes place from the Amalie Arena in Tampa on Thursday, April 2nd.