Tegan Nox returns, costs Candice LeRae & Indi Hartwell NXT Women's Tag Titles

Originally published at Tegan Nox returns, costs LeRae & Hartwell NXT Women's Tag Titles

New NXT Women’s Tag Team Champions crowned.

Candice LeRae and Indi Hartwell were reigning as NXT Women’s Tag Team Champions since early May. They put their titles on the line on 7/6 against the duo of Io Shirai and Zoey Stark. As LeRae and Hartwell had the advantage on their opponents, the lights went out in the Capitol Wrestling Center and it was revealed that Tegan Nox was behind the battery vignettes that have been airing on NXT.

With that distraction, LeRae was pushed out of the ring and Zoey Stark went on to pin Indi Hartwell to win the NXT Women’s Tag Titles for herself and Shirai.

She's baaaaaaaaack!#NXTGAB pic.twitter.com/gmi7Bm91YD

— WWE (@WWE) July 7, 2021

Welcome to the record books, @ZoeyStarkWWE! #AndNew #NXTGAB #WWENXT @shirai_io pic.twitter.com/aLcseUlOfL

— WWE NXT (@WWENXT) July 7, 2021

Tegan Nox was out of action with a torn ACL. The last time she was featured on NXT programming, she was taken out by Candice LeRae.

PWInsider reported on 7/5 that Nox returned to the ring and wrestled in a dark match before Raw. That was Nox’s first documented match since August of 2020.

Zoey Stark and Io Shirai are the fourth pair of NXT Women’s Tag Team Champions. They now join Raquel Gonzalez and Dakota Kai, Ember Moon and Shotzi Blackheart along with the now former champions Candice LeRae and Indi Hartwell.