The 2018 Battle of Los Angeles tournament winner

Originally published at

Pro Wrestling Guerrilla presented their 14th annual Battle of Los Angeles tournament this past weekend with three shows at The Globe Theatre in Los Angeles.

Jeff Cobb emerged as the winner defeating Bandido and Shingo Takagi in the three-way final to win his BOLA crown.

Cobb defeated Darby Allin in the opening round and proceeded to defeat Rey Horus and Trevor Lee on Sunday’s final card to enters the finals.

Below are the full results from Sunday’s third night of the tournament:
*Trevor Lee over Brody King in the second round
*Jeff Cobb over Rey Horus in the second round
*Shingo Takagi over Robbie Eagles in the second round
*Joey Janela over CIMA in the second round
*Walter over Jonah Rock in the second round
*Bandido over Flamita in the second round
*Dezmond Xavier & Zachary Wentz over Penta El Zero M & Fenix to retain the PWG tag titles
*Jeff Cobb over Trevor Lee in the third round
*Bandido over Joey Janela in the third round
*Shin;go Takagi over Walter in the third round
*PCO, Darby Allin, Puma King, Jody Fleisch & Dan Barry over T-Hawk, David Starr, Adam Brooks, DJ Z & Timothy Thatcher
*Jeff Cobb over Bandido and Shingo Takagi in the final

Cobb has been wrestling for close to a decade and represented Guam in freestyle wrestling the 2004 Summer Olympics in Greece. During those Olympics, he lost a match to future UFC middleweight Yoel Romero, who finished fourth that year after a silver medal win at the 2000 Olympics.

Cobb began to receive attention in Northern California and then received his regular television exposure under a mask as Matanza Cueto on Lucha Underground as the brother of heel owner Dario Cueto.

Cobb has recently begun working with Ring of Honor where he has been interrupting matches involving the top prospects.

He joins the following list of past BOLA winners and the finalists each year:

2005: Chris Bosh (defeated AJ Styles in the final)
2006: Davey Richards (defeated CIMA)
2007: CIMA (defeated El Generico and Roderick Strong)
2008: Low Ki (defeated Chris Hero)
2009: Kenny Omega (defeated Roderick Strong)
2010: Joey Ryan (defeated Chris Hero)
2011: El Generico (defeated Kevin Steen)
2012: Adam Cole (defeated Michael Elgin)
2013: Kyle O’Reilly (defeated Michael Elgin)
2014: Ricochet (defeated Johnny Gargano and Roderick Strong)
2015: Zack Sabre Jr. (defeated Chris Hero and Speedball Mike Bailey)
2016: Marty Scurll (defeated Trevor Lee and Will Ospreay)
2017: Ricochet (defeated Jeff Cobb and Keith Lee)