The finals are set for the Best of the Super Juniors tournament

Originally published at

The finals of the Best of the Super Juniors tournament are set for this Wednesday at Sumo Hall with the winner receiving an IWGP junior heavyweight title match.

On Monday’s card, Will Ospreay defeated Ryusuke Taguchi to win the B Block and advance to Wednesday’s final against Shingo Takagi.

The two had a phenomenal match that ended with Ospreay finally hitting the Storm Breaker after multiple attempts with the OsCutter had failed. The crowd in Okayama was electric from the start and was one of the better matches of the tournament, which covers a lot of ground.

Ospreay finished the tournament with 14 points to win the B Block while Takagi won every tournament match with a 9-0 record and 18 points to win the A Block.

Here are the final point totals for each block:

Shingo Takagi (18 points), Dragon Lee & Taiji Ishimori (14), Marty Scurll & SHO (10), Jonathan Gresham (8), Titan & Yoshinobu Kanemaru (6), Tiger Mask (4), Taka Michinoku (0)

Will Ospreay (14 points), Ryusuke Taguchi, El Phantasmo, Bushi, YOH (12), Bandido & Robbie Eagles (10), Rocky Romero (6), Douki (2), Ren Narita (0)

IWGP junior heavyweight champion Dragon Lee lost matches to Takagi and Taiji Ishimori during the tournament.

The finals on Wednesday will be streaming at 5:30 am Eastern on New Japan World with the following announced:
*Shingo Takagi vs. Will Ospreay in the BOSJ final
*Juice Robinson vs. Jon Moxley for the IWGP U.S. title
*Hiroshi Tanahashi vs. Jay White

1 Like