Wes Lee shares that 'Kardiak Kick' finisher was initially a mistake he made in the ring

Originally published at https://www.postwrestling.com/2023/08/01/wes-lee-shares-that-kardiak-kick-finisher-was-initially-a-mistake-he-made-in-the-ring/

Insight into Wes Lee’s finisher. 

Former NXT North American Champion Wes Lee is coming off of an eight month run with the championship. He lost the belt to Dominik Mysterio and at the Great American Bash Premium Live Event, Mysterio successfully retained the title over Lee and Mustafa Ali in a Triple Threat. 

As they were inching towards the P.L.E., Lee was one of the talents who made the media rounds to promote the event and he spoke to James Stewart of Stick to Wrestling. When asked how his ‘Kardiak Kick’ finisher came to be, Lee shared that when he first did the move, it was by mistake. 

It actually came from a mistake in the ring (Lee said about his Kardiak Kick finisher). I had attempted to do a back handspring and capture the person with my ankles and give them a headscissors and I misjudged the distance and as I went back for the back handspring, I was a bit further than what I had anticipated. So I swooped the legs through and I just jumped back and caught him with the kick, and yeah, I got a victory off of it and it’s kind of just stayed with me for the majority of my career. That was probably one of the first moves that really grabbed a lot of people’s attention and got them to take notice of me. So I gotta give a shout out to my homeboy out in New York for making sure people got to see the clip of the Kardiak Kick in its early stages.

The Great American Bash fallout edition of NXT on USA Network airs at 8 PM EST. A review of the show will be available here on POST Wrestling

If the quote in this article is used, please credit Stick to Wrestling with an H/T to POST Wrestling for the transcription.