Regarding the awkward start to RAR

Did you find it funny, or was it off putting?

My workmate is a big fan of The Solomonster Sounds off Podcast, but I recommended Post Wrestling, and he has listened to the last three RAR shows. We listened to the first 40 minutes of the latest show on the way to work, and he said he didn’t enjoy it, as he was just waiting for them to snap at each other again.

I’ve been listening to John and Wai since 2015, and although the banter is often awkward, today’s just seemed to have a nasty tone to it.

It put my workmate off becoming a patron (or even a listener to free shows). Just wondering what other long time fans think of the situation. Especially as shows are on YouTube now too, and new listeners might have the same reaction to my colleague, rather than becoming regular listeners.

We are Scottish, so It’s very possible that we just don’t understand how Canadian humour comes across in audio form.

Are you talking about John’s basketball talk and Wai not really being for it?

Wai might have sounded a little annoyed, but it didn’t come across as having a nasty tone to me. I’m American, so not sure if that says anything.

I have listened to their shows since 2013 and there have been some similar moments.

I chalk it up to them recording together for probably around 8+ hours each week. It’s not going to be all peachy keen all the time.

2 Likes

I found it funny. Clearly showed that Raw has broken people. It leaves me in an angry mood when I watch it too.

My best mate is a patron too though and he text me earlier “awkward start to review a raw”

Personally I thought it was hilarious and John is totally accurate in his basketball analysis. Felt to me like Wai is a HUGE closet Raps fan and was sulking a bit lol.

1 Like